Published on July 13, 2020

$200,000+ in Health Care Scholarships Awarded to Area Students

Under the stewardship of the MidMichigan Health Foundation, $207,300 has been awarded to 160 students for the 2020-2021 school year from The Bernard F. and Melissa Anne Bailey Family Fund.

More than $2 million in total has been awarded in scholarship funds by the Bailey Family Fund to assist students as they pursue a career in health care since it began offering scholarships in 2005.

The following students have received scholarships for the upcoming school year:

  • Alcona – Lisa Dault and Brandy Tudor
  • Alpena – Aaron DeCaire, Maia Haske, Georgeia Kolokithas, Chloe C. Lacombe, Maisie A. Pyles and Ashley Timmreck
  • Bay – Alexandra Lauren Davis, Brooke Fenner, Madison Laney, Kayla McCann, Cassidy McDonell, Kaylee Meyers, Joyce Mier, Danielle Purtell, Emily A. Reitzel, Grace M. Sayles and Angela Wascher
  • Clare – Rhoda Brasseur, Jeri Brown, Judith E. Evans, Paige D. Gillie, Rebecca M. Green, Ashlie Hoffmeyer, Nick King, Sara Schafer, Mallory Silamianos and Katelynn M. Simon
  • Gladwin – Evangelia Andrews, Cara Andrist, Kelly Gary, Tracy Jehnsen, Stephanie Johnson, Michelle King, Mariam Lowery, Tracey Pannill, Roxanne Perras, Melissa Rowley, Jolynn Slabic,Caitlin Shea, Marlene S. Smalley and Jordan Williams
  • Gratiot – Chloe Brittain, Erica Easlick, Emily Fife, Dawn Malek, Steven Moore, Cassandra R. Ross, Nikole Shaw, Karen Skeith and Maria Truss
  • Isabella – Shannon R. Adams, John M. Andraka, Rochelle M. Chesney, Kari Dearing, Jodi DeMarrow, Cecilia First, Kelsi Hendrickson, Jazcinda Jorgensen, Alyvia Karcher, Samantha Kirby, Kayla Stephens, Alexis Vicenzi and Laura S. Witte
  • Midland – Riley Andridge, Jenna L. Arens, Alisha Lee Arnold, Mackenzie Aspiranti, Amber Bailey, Brittany Bauer, Zachary Brown, Brandi Butler, Hussein Chouman, Abigail Cook, Jordan Ensz, Kourtney M. Garno, Jessica Gault, Jackson P. Goethe, Trisha Hatt, Amanda Haiderer, Molly Hancock, Elizabeth Havens, Adam Haydanek, Amanda K. Hermanns, LouAnn Holland, Eric W. Houk, Jacqueline Jacobs, Weston Johnson, Jessica M. Jones, Jenna Koczenasz, Ashley Krebs, Abigail C. Krompetz, Savannah Laney, Alison Lewis, Matthew Longuski, Elizabeth Maraskine, Colleen Markel, Tina Mason, Jennifer L. Mast, Angela Miller, Nicholas J. Miller, Rebecca Mills, Tess Moldenhauer, Amie A. Munger, Jasmine Novak, Casey Oard, Marissa K. Palmer, Alisha R. Patt, Jacob Poliskey, Seraphina Provenzano, Samantha Rapanos, Rachel Reardon, Kimberly K. Roberson, Mariah L. Rubenacker, Rebekah Schriber, Mariah Sherman, Sarah Slavik, Jamie K. Stevenson, Theo St. John, Maximilian Volk, Madalyn Waldmann, Keaton Ware, Ashley Wejrowski, Alicia J. Wietfeldt, Lee Wilford, Annalise Wohlford, Emma Wolf and Katelyn Woods
  • Ogemaw – Caroline Buday, Jeanann L. Kaiser, Alexis Maroney, Madisyn Schultz and Jared Walters
  • Saginaw – Mackenzie Allen, Taylor Bakos, Karli Bowerman, Selina Buchan, Caprice Green, Lauren Guentert, Taylor M. Herring, Stephen Holihan, Sydney Little, Saleena Lutz, Trista Olivia MacDowell, Gina Mynatt, Tara Ann Nicholas, Amy A. Nurnberg, Anna O'Keefe, Dalton Reimus, Eric Sheffield, Amanda N. Stange, Sierra Thomas, Aiden Van Loo, Stacey Wallace, Martin J. Weaver and Sydney Whitten 

Examples of the health professions being pursued by these individuals include anesthesia, nursing, medicine, occupational therapy, pharmacy, physician assistant, physical therapy, radiology, respiratory therapy and speech therapy.

The Bernard F. and Melissa Anne Bailey Family Fund was initiated through a $3.3 million bequest left by Bernard Bailey to MidMichigan in 2004. Since Mr. Bailey’s bequest was placed in an endowment, a portion of the income earned from the fund is awarded annually to qualified individuals. More than 1,100 students have benefits from their legacy gift.

As lifelong residents of Midland, Bernard and Melissa Anne Bailey’s contributions in business, leadership and philanthropy have made a difference in the community for more than 50 years.

According to their nephew, William Bailey, “As their long and productive lives became more difficult in later years, their appreciation for those in the medical profession became the focal point of their legacy of giving. It was their sincere desire to recognize the contributions of all caregivers and to help those who have the passion to make caring for others their life’s work.”

Applications for the 2021-2022 school year will be accepted from Dec. 1, 2020, through March 1, 2021. Those interested in reviewing the eligibility guidelines, including a scholarship application, may visit, or call (989) 839-3638. Those interested in additional scholarship opportunities may visit