Published on June 04, 2019

Annual Scholarship Award Ceremony Honors Recipients

Photo of 2019 Scholarship Recipients at MidMichigan Medical Center - West Branch

Scholarship Recipients 2019

Smiles and congratulations filled the Executive Dining Room at MidMichigan Medical Center – West Branch during the annual Scholarship Award Ceremony held in May.

Scholarship recipients, 19 in all, and their family members came from Houghton Lake, Prudenville, Roscommon, Sterling, West Branch and Whittemore to receive awards from the Tolfree Scholarship, the Dr. George Schaiberger, Sr., Dr. Howard VanOosten and Dr. Lloyd Wiegerink Medical Scholarship, and the Paul A. Poling Memorial Scholarship.

Cynthia Longchamps, fund development director MidMichigan Health Foundation, reminded attendees, “the intent of donors in creating these scholarships was to provide our rural counties, particularly those served by MidMichigan Medical Center – West Branch, with future generations of excellent health care professionals.”

A total of $21,000 was then presented by Katharine Kohr, CFO, MidMichigan Medical Center – West Branch, and Denise O’Keefe, executive director, MidMichigan Health Foundation.  Each awardee gave a brief self description , shared their area of study, as well as the name of the school to be attended.

“The ceremony finished with cookies, punch, laughter and the joyful sharing of the long journey ahead,” said Longchamps. “Congratulations, again to both the award recipients, as well as the parents and teachers who help them arrive at this major milestone in these students’ lives.  We wish each one of them the best of success, and hope to see them back again in a few years serving the people of their own hometown.”

Annual Community Report

Looking Back: MidMichigan Health Highlights of 2017

2017 picture of Annual Report.

View Report