Skip to Content

  • Wait Times
  • Site Search

Published on February 14, 2018

Medical Center Receives Level III Trauma Center Designation

MidMichigan Medical Center – Gratiot and its trauma team have been working to save the lives of critically injured patients since the hospital first began providing trauma care. As a confirmation to the trauma team’s dedicated effort to providing high-quality trauma care, the Medical Center in Alma was recently designated as a Level III Trauma Center by the State of Michigan.

Level III Trauma Centers are smaller community hospitals that have services to care for patients with moderate injuries and the ability to stabilize severe trauma patients in preparation for transport to a higher level center.

“Our multidisciplinary team of physicians, health care providers and other clinical staff members have made a dedicated effort to ensure that our trauma program meets the rigorous Trauma Center standards as set by the State of Michigan,” said Marita Hattem-Schiffman, president, MidMichigan Medical Centers in Alma and Mt. Pleasant. “This is a wonderful accomplishment and a true testament to everyone’s focus on providing the highest quality patient care. Members of our communities have an incredible team to count on for care in a medical emergency.”

To be recognized as a Level III Trauma Center, the Medical Center submitted 12 months of data to the State Trauma Registry, including data on patients who met trauma inclusion criteria, participated in the Regional Trauma Network’s work plan and met performance improvement criteria as outlined by the state and the American College of Surgeons (ACS).

According to Megan Hasse, trauma program manager, the staff works closely with members of the trauma team at MidMichigan Medical Center – Midland, which was verified as a Level II Trauma Center by the ACS Committee on Trauma in 2014 and re-verified in 2017. “Together, we are proud to provide an advanced level of care for patients throughout the counties that our Medical Centers serve,” she said.

In 2014, the State of Michigan mandated a statewide trauma system which required all hospitals in Michigan to apply and receive certification from the State of Michigan or designation from the ACS. The ACS recognizes Levels I, II and III for trauma facilities, which the state also recognizes, along with its own designations of Level III and IV centers. The state provided guidelines, based on ACS criteria, for health care facilities to achieve certification as a trauma facility.

Annual Community Report

Looking Back: MidMichigan Health Highlights of 2017

2017 picture of Annual Report.

View Report